0.7 C
Frankfurt am Main

Bulgarian president only EU head of state to attend Erdoğan inauguration

Must read

Bulgarian President Rumen Radev will be the only president of a European Union country to attend the inauguration on Monday of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, the state-run Anadolu news agency reported.

Twenty-two heads of state including the presidents of Georgia, Macedonia, Moldova, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Kosovo, Bulgaria, Venezuela, Pakistan, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan, Guinea, Zambia, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Somalia, Mauritania, Gabon, Chad, Djibouti and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus as well as the emir of Qatar will attend the ceremony in Turkish capital.

According to Anadolu, a total of 28 foreign dignitaries — including prime ministers, vice presidents, parliament speakers and ministers — will also be in attendance. The secretaries general of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and the D-8, and the European commissioner for Migration and Home Affairs will also be among the attendees.

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev, Hungarian Prime Minister Victor Orbán, Albanian Prime Minister Edi Rama, Senegalese Prime Minister Mahammed Dionne and Algerian Prime Minister Ahmed Ouyahia will be present at the ceremony.

Former prime ministers Silvio Berlusconi of Italy and Gerhard Schröder of Germany will also attend.

Erdoğan will first be sworn in at Parliament on Monday at 4:30 p.m. local time. Following the swearing-in ceremony, he will visit Anıtkabir, mausoleum of the founder of the Turkish Republic Mustafa Kemal Ataturk.

At 6 p.m. local time, Erdoğan’s inauguration ceremony will be held at the presidential palace. Erdoğan will be accompanied cavalry and welcomed with an Ottoman march when he arrives at his palace.

Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
More News
Latest News