18.6 C
Frankfurt am Main

15 media outlets closed down under new decrees

Must read

The Turkish government closed down 15 pro-Kurdish media outlets with new state of emergency decrees issued on Saturday.

According to two new decrees, numbers 675 and 676, two news agencies — Dicle Haber Ajansı and Jin Haber Ajansı; 10 newspapers — Azadiya Welat, Yüksekova Haber, Batman Çağdaş Gazetesi, Cizre Postası, İdil Haber, Güney Expres, Prestij Haber, Urfanatik Gazetesi, Kızıltepe’nin Sesi and Özgür Gündem; and three magazines — Tiroji, Evrensel Kültür, Özgürlük Düyası — were closed.

The Turkish government has shut down 55 newspapers, 36 TV stations, 23 radio stations, 18 magazines and 29 publishing houses since the state of emergency was declared on July 20, five days after a failed coup attempt on July 15.

More than 130 journalists, most of them jailed after the coup attempt, are now behind bars in Turkey.

Three-lawyer limit

Another new decree has limited the number of lawyers in terrorism cases to three.

According one decree, 32 parliamentary staff members and 183 judicial personnel have been dismissed, while 35 employees of the Education Ministry, Parliament and the Disaster and Emergency Management Agency (AFAD) have been reinstated.

Similarly, 39 military personnel including two generals who were dismissed following the coup attempt have been returned to their posts.

A total of 1,083 police staff have also been stripped of their rank.


Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
More News
Latest News