8.3 C
Frankfurt am Main

36 political parties qualify for Turkey’s elections: Supreme Election Board

Must read

Turkey’s Supreme Election Board (YSK) on Saturday released a list of 36 political parties qualified to run in the upcoming parliamentary elections on May 14, the Gazete Duvar news website reported.

The number was up from the previous 27 that qualified in July 2022.

The Green Left Party (YSP), which was rumored to be the “backup” party of the pro-Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP) in the event the Constitutional Court shuts it down before the elections, has also made it onto the list.

Turkey’s top court in January rejected the HDP’s request to defer until after the May elections a ruling on a case that could end in the party’s dissolution.

President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan’s government has been trying to dissolve the HDP since March 2021 over its alleged ties to outlawed Kurdish militants.

The party says it is being singled out for standing up for Kurdish rights and resisting the government’s expanding clampdown on political freedoms and dissent.

In addition to the YSP, the Victory Party (ZP), Labor Party (EMEP), Communist Party of Turkey (TKP), Workers’ Party of Turkey (TİP) and the People’s Liberation Party (HKP) have all been added to the list of qualified political parties.

The list also includes the Justice Unity Party (ABP), Justice Party (AP), Justice and Development Party (AKP), Motherland Party (ANAP), Independent Turkey Party (BTP), Grand Union Party (BBP), Grand Turkey Party (BTP), Republican People’s Party (CHP), Democracy and Progress Party (DEVA), Democratic Left Party (DSP), Democratic Party (DP), Future Party, Young Party (GP), Power Union Party (GBP), Rights and Freedoms Party (HÖP), HDP, Free Cause Party (ÖDP), İYİ (Good) Party, Homeland Party (VP), Nation Party (MP), Nationalist Movement Party (MHP), National Road Party (MYP), Felicity Party (SP), Left Party, Change Party of Turkey (TDP), Communist Movement of Turkey (TKH),  Homeland Party (MP), New Welfare Party (YRP), Innovation Party (YP) and the New Turkey Party (YTP).

The YSK also announced that the polls will be open on May 14 between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. local time, giving voters a nine-hour window to cast their votes.

Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
More News
Latest News