13.4 C
Frankfurt am Main

Turkey’s election board announces official results from June 24 polls

Must read

Turkey’s Supreme Election Board (YSK) on Wednesday announced the official results of the presidential and parliamentary elections held on June 24, the state-run Anadolu news agency reported.

According to the YSK, President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan garnered 52.59 percent of the vote, whereas Republican People’s Party (CHP) candidate Muharrem İnce had 30.64 percent, Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP) candidate Selahattin Demirtaş received 8.4 percent and the İYİ (Good) Party’s Meral Akşener came in with 7.29 percent.

For the parliamentary elections, the official YSK results indicate that the Justice and Development Party (AKP) took 42.56 percent of the vote; the CHP, 22.65 percent; the HDP, 11.70 percent; the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP), 11.10 percent; the İYİ Party, 9.96 percent; the Felicity Party (SP), 1.34 percent; and the Homeland Party (VP) received 0.23 percent.

These results gave the AKP 295 seats in Parliament and its ally, the MHP, 49. The CHP will have 146 seats, while HDP will have 67 and the İYİ Party 43 in the next legislative term.

As of 5 p.m. local time today, the YSK will no longer accept any objections to the election results.

YSK chairman Sadi Güven said there had been 13 objections to the results since June 24 and that the board was able to announce the results once they had been adjudicated. Güven also told reporters he had presented the presidential mandate to the parliament speaker’s office.

Erdoğan will be sworn in on June 9.

Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
More News
Latest News